How much does it cost to apply? CONTRACTORS STATE LICENSE BOARD

As of July 1, 2017, there is a non-refundable $330 fee DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
for an original application and a $200 initial license
fee for one classification. The application fee for each
additional classification is $150. The license must be
renewed every two years; the renewal fee is $400.

WHY BECOME |
LICENSED?

——

Are there additional financial
requirements to qualify for a
license?

Yes. All applicants must submit to CSLB a contractor
bond or cash deposit payable to CSLB in the amount
of $15,000. CSLB does not issue bonds.

For more information about becoming a
California licensed contractor, view CSLB
publications and forms at www.cslb.ca.gov,
including the annual California Contractor
License Law & Reference Book.

Is workers’ compensation
insurance required?

All contractors who have employees must present proof

of workers’ compensation insurance coverage. Contractors
without employees are required to file a certificate of
exemption with CSLB. However, C-39 Roofing contractors
are not eligible for an exemption from the workers’
compensation insurance requirement and must file with
CSLB either a Certificate of Workers’ Compensation
Insurance or a Certificate of Self-Insurance.

What are the other application

requirements? BUILDING YOUR CAREER AS A
All applicants must be fingerprinted (at an additional

cost to the applicant) and undergo a criminal L I c E N s E D

background check before CSLB will issue a license.
How can | apply? CONTRACTOR

The “Application for Original Contractor License”

is available online at www.cslb.ca.gov, at any CSLB
office, through the mail by writing to P.O. Box 26000,
Sacramento, CA 95826, or by calling CSLB’s 24-hour
automated information line, (800) 321-CSLB (2752).
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Who can become a
licensed contractor?

A licensed contractor must be 18 years of age or
older, have either a Social Security number or
individual taxpayer identification number, and
have the experience and skills necessary to manage
the daily activities of a construction business,
including field supervision, or be represented

by someone (a “qualifying individual”) with the
necessary experience and skills.

Who must be licensed as
a contractor?

All businesses or individuals that construct

or alter any building, highway, road, parking
facility, railroad, excavation, or other structure in
California must be licensed by the Contractors
State License Board if the combined labor and
material costs for one or more contracts on the
project is $500 or more. Contractors must be
licensed before submitting bids.

Is there an exam requirement?

Yes. The qualifying individual (either you or
your representative) is required to pass written
law and trade exams, unless he or she meets the
requirements for a waiver. CSLB schedules exams
after the application is submitted, reviewed, and
accepted as complete.

What kind of experience
is required?

At least four years of journey-level experience
is required to qualify for the exams. Credit
may be given for experience as a journeyman,
foreman, supervising employee or contractor
in the particular classification for which you

are applying.

Is school necessary?

No. There are no educational requirements to qualify
for a contractor license. You may receive credit for
technical training, apprenticeship training, military
training, or education instead of a portion of the
required four years of practical experience. At least one
year must be practical experience.

What are the California
contractor license
classifications?

CSLB issues licenses to contract in specific trades or
fields of construction. Each trade is recognized as a

“classification.” You may add as many classifications
to your license for which you qualify.

Class “A” General Engineering

The principal business is in connection with fixed works
requiring specialized engineering knowledge and skill.

Class “B” General Building

The principal business is in connection with any
structure built, being built, or to be built, requiring in
its construction the use of at least two unrelated building
trades or crafts; however, framing or carpentry projects
may be performed without limitation. In some instances,
a General Building contractor may take a contract for
projects involving one trade only if the at contractor
holds the appropriate specialty license or subcontracts
with an appropriately licensed specialty contractor to
perform the work.

Class “C” Specialty

There are 42 separate “C” classifications for contractors
whose principal contracting business involves the use
of specialized building trades or crafts. Manufacturers
are considered contractors if engaged in on-site
construction, alteration, repair, or installation.

CLASSIFICATION CODE

ASBESTOS ABATEMENT

BOILER, HOT-WATER HEATING AND STEAM FITTING

BUILDING MOVING/DEMOLITION

CABINET, MILLWORK AND FINISH CARPENTRY

CERAMIC AND MOSAIC TILE

CONCRETE

CONSTRUCTION ZONE TRAFFIC CONTROL

DRYWALL

EARTHWORK AND PAVING

ELECTRICAL (GENERAL)

ELEVATOR

FENCING

FIRE PROTECTION

FLOORING AND FLOOR COVERING

FRAMING AND ROUGH CARPENTRY

GENERAL MANUFACTURED HOUSING

GLAZING

INSULATION AND ACOUSTICAL

LANDSCAPING

LATHING AND PLASTERING

LIMITED SPECIALTY

LOCK AND SECURITY EQUIPMENT

LOW VOLTAGE SYSTEMS

MASONRY

ORNAMENTAL METAL

PAINTING AND DECORATING

PARKING AND HIGHWAY IMPROVEMENT

PIPELINE

PLUMBING

REFRIGERATION

ROOFING

SANITATION SYSTEM

SHEET METAL

SIGN

SOLAR

STEEL, REINFORCING

STEEL, STRUCTURAL

SWIMMING POOL

WARM-AIR HEATING, VENTILATING
AND AIR-CONDITIONING

WATER CONDITIONING

WELDING

WELL DRILLING (WATER)

C-22
C-4

C-21
C-6

C-b4
C-8

C-31
C-9

C-12
C-10
C-1
C-13
C-16
C-15
C-5

C-47
C-17
C-2

C-27
C-35
C-61
C-28
C-7

C-29
C-23
C-33
C-32
C-34
C-36
C-38
C-39
C-42
C-43
C-45
C-46
C-50
C-51
C-53
C-20

C-55
C-60
C-57
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