
 

 

 

www.cslb.ca.gov     |     CheckTheLicenseFirst.com     |     SeniorScamStopper.com 

 
December 9, 2020 CSLB #20-25 

 

 
 

Brush-Up on New Contracting Laws that Come into Play  
January 1, 2021 

 
SACRAMENTO – As we make our way into the new year, CSLB would like to highlight 

some construction-related laws that will go into effect January 1. Pay close attention to 

these changes, including an extension for seniors’ right to cancel a contract (AB 2471) and 

the direct authority for the registrar to take disciplinary action for tree worker safety 

violations (AB 2210). These updates, and the others mentioned below, may impact the way 

licensees conduct business. 

AB 2471 (Maienschein): Extends the right to cancel contracts for persons 65 years of age 

or older from three business days to five business days for the following transactions: home 

solicitation contracts, home improvement contracts, Property Assessed Clean Energy 

assessment contracts, service and repair contracts, and seminar sales contracts. (Chapter 

158, Statutes of 2020) 

AB 1551 (Arambula): Relates to Property Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) financing home 

improvements through PACE assessment contracts, as regulated by the California 

Financing Law and the Streets and Highways Code. AB 1551 prohibits “prepayment 

penalties” in PACE assessment contracts and prohibits PACE assessments on properties 

with reverse mortgages. This bill also requires the PACE Financing Estimate and 

Disclosure be provided to the homeowner in printed, paper form, unless the property owner 

signs a printed paper document opting out of a hard copy; if they opt-out, they may receive 

the disclosure electronically. (Chapter 156, Statutes of 2020) 

AB 2210 (Aguiar-Curry): Authorizes disciplinary action against a licensed contractor for 

violations of tree worker safety regulations administered by the California Division of 

Occupational Safety and Health without regard to whether death or serious injury to an 

employee resulted from the violation. This bill also extends the time for the CSLB registrar 

to bring disciplinary action against a licensed contractor for violations of the Labor Code or 
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the specified tree safety regulations from 180 days to 18 months. (Chapter 128, Statutes of 

2020) 

AB 3087 (Brough): Authorizes the CSLB registrar to contract with a public or private 

organization to administer, and provide services and materials for, CSLB’s contractor 

license exams. (Chapter 295, Statutes of 2020) 

SB 865 (Hill): Makes several changes to the Dig Safe Act of 2016, including renaming the 

California Underground Facilities Safe Excavation Board to “Dig Safe Board”; updating  

requirements about the exchange of information and records between the Dig Safe Board 

and regional notification centers (RNC); requiring that all new subsurface installations use 

specified mapping technology; and requiring that an excavator notify the RNC within 48 

hours of discovering or causing damage. The bill also updates some of the enforcement 

responsibilities of the Dig Safe Board, including the option to require that violators take an 

educational course in lieu of paying a fine. (Chapter 307, Statutes of 2020) 

SB 1189 (McGuire): Creates a new classification of contracting business called “residential 

remodeling contracting,” which is defined as projects that make improvements to, on, or in 

an existing residential wood frame structure that use at least three unrelated building trades 

or crafts for a single contract; a list of trades is included in the bill.  The bill also includes in 

the definition of “home improvement” the reconstruction, restoration, or rebuilding of 

residential property damaged or destroyed by a disaster for which either the governor or 

president has declared a state of emergency. The bill also expands the type of contracting 

activity in a declared disaster zone for which a person without a contractor license can be 

prosecuted. (Chapter 364, Statutes of 2020) 

SB 1474 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development): 

Requires the CSLB registrar to retroactively reinstate an expired contractor license if a 

completed license renewal application is received with the appropriate fees within 90 days 

of the license expiration date.  It also makes several minor, technical, non-substantive 

changes to the law. (Chapter 312, Statutes of 2020) 
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