

CONTRACTORS STATE LICENSE BOARD LICENSE EXAMINATION STUDY GUIDE



PLUMBING (C-36)

Content of the Examination

The Plumbing (C-36) Examination is divided into five major sections:

1. Planning and Estimating (22%)

- Scope of work and code compliance
- Pipe sizing and venting requirements
- · Shop drawings, plans, and specifications
- Job site inspections
- · Coordination of projects
- Water conservation
- Cost estimation for materials, equipment, labor, and overhead

2. Underground and Rough Systems (22%)

- Excavation and underground installations
- · Piping layout and installation
- · Fuel gas piping
- · Insulation and system testing

3. Finish Plumbing Installations (20%)

- Plumbing fixtures and appliances
- Water heaters
- Shut-off valves
- Specialty installations
- Industrial and commercial piping and sanitary systems

4. Service, Repair, and Remodel Plumbing Systems (19%)

- Troubleshoot plumbing issues
- Isolate leaks and damage
- Repair plumbing
- Retrofit plumbing
- · Disposal of plumbing materials

5. Safety (17%)

- Personnel safety
- Job site safety
- Environmental safety

Percentages are approximate

Test Policy

This is a closed-book examination. No reference materials may be used during the examination.

Test Strategy

This is a multiple-choice examination with four choices per question. Examination questions are written to provide only one BEST answer. Some questions require mathematical computation. A calculator will be provided.

There is no penalty for guessing. If you are unsure about a particular question, it is better to try to answer the question than to leave the question blank.

Plenty of time is provided to answer all examination questions, so be sure to read each question and its four choices completely and carefully before selecting the BEST possible answer to the question.

Sample Questions

Below are three typical examination questions. The correct answer is marked with an asterisk (*).

- **1.** What type of wall fitting should a contractor use to install a wall-mounted water closet?
 - a. A hubless closet ring
 - b. An approved spud fitting
 - c. An approved closet flange
 - d. An approved carrier fitting*
- 2. What is the total charge for four 8-hour days' use of a backhoe, if the cost for rental is \$400 per day and the operator cost is \$70 per hour?
 - **a.** \$5,440
 - **b.** \$3,840*
 - **c.** \$2,640
 - **d.** \$2,160
- **3.** When installing a water filtration system for domestic use, what is commonly used for taste and odor control?
 - a. Lime
 - b. Carbon*
 - c. Nitrogen
 - d. Copper sulphate

All questions are written and reviewed by licensed contractors who are actively working in the trade

Resources

Publisher information for reference books and code is provided below. Other sources for reference books may be found online.

California code books can be viewed online: www.dgs.ca.gov/bsc

2022 California Building Code. California Code of Regulations, Title 24. International Code Council.

PHONE: (800) 786-4452 INTERNET: www.iccsafe.org

2022 California Green Building Standards

Code. California Code of Regulations, Title 24.

International Code Council.
PHONE: (800) 786-4452
INTERNET: www.iccsafe.org

2022 California Mechanical Code. California Code of Regulations, Title 24. International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO).

PHONE: (909) 472-4100 INTERNET: iapmo.org

2022 California Plumbing Code. California Code of Regulations, Title 24. International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO).

PHONE: (909) 472-4100 INTERNET: iapmo.org

California Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices, 2014 Edition, Revision 8. State of

California Department of Transportation (Caltrans).

PHONE: (916) 654-2852

INTERNET: dot.ca.gov/manuals

State of California General Industry & Electrical Safety Orders (Cal/OSHA) and State of California Construction & Electrical Safety Orders (Cal/OSHA). 2024. California Code of Regulations, Title 8. Mancomm.

PHONE: (877) 626-2666 INTERNET: mancomm.com

VIEW ONLINE:

www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/LawsAndRegulations.htm

Underground Service Alert Guidelines.

California Government Code 4216 and California Business & Professions Code 7110.

PHONE: (800) 642-2444 <u>OR</u> (800) 422-4133

<u>OR</u> 811

INTERNET: www.usanorth811.org <u>OR</u> www.digalert.org

Publisher information is current as of 10/24