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Message From the Board Chair 

After several extremely tough years for California's construction industry, it appears 

that the worst is finally behind most of us and the prospects for 2014 and beyond 

look brighter for our colleagues. I am pleased to have been elected as CSLB's 

Board Chair in this positive atmosphere, and look forward to more work, and jobs, 

for contractors over the next year as the state's economy continues to recover. 

I'm proud of the professionalism demonstrated by the vast majority of CSLB's almost 300,000 licensees 

through good times and bad – those who maintained high standards and refrained from cheating, even under 

the strain of a crushing recession. 

Unfortunately, there are always a few whose actions tarnish the reputation of our profession. In particular, I am 

troubled by the increasing number of predatory C-20 Warm-Air Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning 

(HVAC) contractors who are targeting vulnerable consumers after being called out for simple repairs or routine 

maintenance. This really hits home since I've spent much of my career working in the HVAC field, and I find it 

disappointing that my honest, hard-working colleagues suffer from association with the industry's bad apples. 

CSLB is taking steps to warn and weed out this disreputable element. We hosted a conference in San Jose in 

May that brought together industry officials, regulators, and C-20 contractors to discuss HVAC installation. The 

event also introduced CSLB's new "Ambassador Program" education and enforcement campaign. 

CSLB plans to continue its campaign of educational HVAC workshops to remind contractors about California's 

service and repair contract laws and requirements, including a customer's three-day right to rescind a home 

improvement contract. 

CSLB is partnering with local district attorneys, the Better Business Bureau, and industry leaders on these 

efforts. I also encourage HVAC business owners to join us in identifying those who are victimizing consumers 

and giving the industry a black eye. 



CSLB's zero-tolerance policy toward HVAC-related scams will be reinforced by targeted undercover sting 

operations in selected areas, conducted by CSLB's Enforcement division. You can help in this effort by offering 

your residential or commercial properties to use for sting operations. An article in this newsletter explains how 

you can help. 

Respectfully, 
 
David Dias  
 
 

CSLB Registrar Steve Sands to Retire After Distinguished Public 
Service Career 

After more than three decades in public service – including 15 years of helping defend the integrity of the 

construction industry and protecting consumers – CSLB Registrar Steve Sands will retire at the end of the year. 

Mr. Sands has been at the helm of CSLB since January 1, 2001. He announced his pending retirement at 

CSLB's April Board meeting in San Diego. 

Under Mr. Sands' leadership, CSLB has been recognized as a leader in proactive enforcement programs and 

partnerships with state and local agencies that help curb the 

underground economy. CSLB's Licensing, Examination, Enforcement, 

and Public Affairs programs have been used as models for the National 

Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies (NASCLA) and 

other agencies within the Department of Consumer Affairs. 

Mr. Sands serves as the CSLB executive officer and oversees a $60 

million budget and more than 400 employees at CSLB headquarters in 

Sacramento and 10 other offices around the state. 

"Steve has done a remarkable job, expertly guiding the Board through tumultuous budget times, including deep 

staff cuts," said former Board Chair Joan Hancock. "He's going to leave some very big shoes to fill." 

Prior to coming to CSLB, Mr. Sands was Executive Officer of the California Architects Board from 1986-2000. 

From 1978-1986, he worked in the Department of Consumer Affairs Executive and Legislative Offices. 

 



CSLB Welcomes New Slate of Board Officers  

At its June 5 quarterly meeting, CSLB's Board unanimously selected the following members to serve as officers 

for the 2014-15 fiscal year: 

David Dias – Chair 

Ed Lang – Vice Chair 

Agustin Beltran – Secretary 

Dias, a Benicia resident, was appointed to the Board by Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. in April 2011. He is the 

business representative for Sheet Metal Workers' Local Union No. 104, a position he's held since 2005. He 

takes over the chair position, held last year by Joan Hancock. 

Lang, of Rancho Cordova, was first appointed to the Board by Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger in January 

2007. He was reappointed in July 2010 and recently was reappointed for his second full term. Lang serves as 

the Board's member of a statewide senior citizen organization. He is a retired supervisor for the California 

Franchise Tax Board. 

Beltran, of Oakdale, is one of the Board's newest members, having been appointed by the Senate Rules 

Committee in January 2014. He currently serves as the President and Director of Public and Governmental 

Relations for the Northern California Carpenters Regional Council. 

In addition to Lang, Board members Linda Clifford and Pastor Herrera Jr. were recently reappointed for another 

term that runs through June 1, 2018. 

Contractors Could Be Impacted by Current Legislation 

CSLB is monitoring several bills before the state Legislature this year that would 

affect contractors. The following list is not all-inclusive, but represents bills that 

CSLB is either sponsoring or believes will have the greatest impact on the 

contracting industry if passed and signed by Governor Brown. 

Click here to get updates and amendments on any legislation. 

 

Senate Bill (SB) 315 – Contractors 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml


This bill, sponsored by CSLB and introduced by Sen. Ted Lieu, D-Torrance, would amend Business and 

Professions Code (BPC) section (§) 7027.2, BPC § 7110.5, BPC § 7028, and BPC § 7011.4. 

It would: 

• Authorize a person who is not licensed as a contractor to advertise for construction work or a work of 

improvement only if the aggregate contract price is less than $500 and the person states in the 

advertisement that he or she is not licensed.  

• Authorize CSLB Enforcement Representatives (ERs) to issue written notices to appear in court. In 

addition, these ERs will have access to construction-related places of labor.  

• Clarify that an individual contracting with a suspended license for an outstanding tax or civil liability is 

subject to the same disciplinary action as an individual contracting without a license.  

• Provide CSLB with additional time to pursue disciplinary action against a licensed contractor as a 

result of a referral from the Labor Commissioner for a Labor Code violation.  

Assembly Bill (AB) 26 – Construction: Prevailing Wages/Mechanics Liens 

This bill would revise the definition of "construction" to include post-construction phases and cleanup work at 

the job site; and expand the definition of "public works" regarding the payment of prevailing wages to include 

any task relating to the collecting or sorting of refuse or recyclable metals, such as copper, steel, and aluminum 

performed at a public works job site. 

AB 1702 – Professions and Vocations: Incarceration 

This bill would provide that an individual who has satisfied requirements needed to obtain a license while 

incarcerated, applies for that license upon release from incarceration, and is otherwise eligible for the license 

shall not be subject to a delay in processing or a denial of the license solely on the basis that some or all of the 

licensure requirements were completed while the individual was incarcerated. 

AB 1705 – Public Contracts: Payments 

This bill would allow retention proceeds withheld from any payment by an awarding entity to prime contractors 

or subcontractors to exceed a specified percentage on projects that are more "substantially complex" than 

those involving routine or regular work. It also would require that the bid documents include details that 

explains the basis for the "complex" finding, and list the actual retention amount. 

AB 1741 – Public Works: Prevailing Wage Rates-Assessments 



This bill involves civil wages and penalty assessments by the Labor Commissioner for violating laws regulating 

public works contracts, including the payment of prevailing wages. It specifies that a contractor, subcontractor, 

or surety may deposit the full amount of the assessment or notice with the Department of Industrial Relations in 

the form of cash or a bond issued by a surety company admitted to do business in the state in a form 

acceptable to the department. 

AB 1870 – Public Works: Prevailing Wage-Apprenticeship Program 

This bill would amend existing law that requires a contractor to whom a contract is awarded and who employs 

journeymen or apprentices, to contribute to the State Apprenticeship Council the same amount determined to 

be the prevailing amount of apprenticeship training contributions in the area of the public works site. This bill 

would have an impact on the award of certain grants in cases where two or more approved multi-employer 

apprenticeship programs serve the same craft or trade, in an attempt to make the distribution of grants more 

equitable. 

AB 1918 – Energy: Design and Construction Standards 

This bill would amend existing law that requires the State Energy Resources Conservation and Development 

Commission to prescribe building design and construction standards, and energy and water conservation 

design standards for new buildings. It would require the State Energy Resources Conservation and 

Development Commission to implement methods to simplify procedures related to compliance, and establish 

an incentive program for contractors and local governments to improve the verification of building code 

compliance. 

AB 1939 – Public Works: Prevailing Wage-Contractor's Costs 

This bill relates to public works and the prevailing wage by authorizing a contractor to bring an action to recover 

from the party it directly contracts with any increased costs, including labor costs, penalties, and legal fees 

incurred as a result of any decision by the Department of Industrial Relations, the Labor and Workforce 

Development Agency, or a court that classifies the work covered by the project is a public work. 

AB 2396 – Convictions: Expungement-Licenses 

This bill would prohibit a vocational or professional licensing board under the Department of Consumer Affairs 

from denying a license based solely on a conviction that has been dismissed pursuant to certain provisions of 

existing law. 

SB 1159 – License Applicants-Federal Taxpayer Identification 



This bill would require the professional and vocational licensing boards within the Department of Consumer 

Affairs to require an applicant other than a partnership to provide either a federal tax identification number or a 

Social Security number if one has been issued to an applicant. It would require the individuals to report to the 

Franchise Tax Board, and subject a licensee to a penalty for failure to provide that information. 

 

CSLB Turns Up the Heat on HVAC Rip-Offs 

CSLB is partnering with local law enforcement, the Better Business Bureau (BBB), and industry leaders in the 

warm-air heating, ventilating, and air-conditioning (HVAC) sector to address an epidemic of companies that 

promise consumers low-cost tune-ups, and then up-sell services or insist on replacing an entire system through 

high-pressure sales and scare tactics. These unethical business practices cheat unsuspecting customers, 

especially older adults. 

The campaign also aims to protect and uphold the reputation of more 

than 11,000 licensed and honest HVAC contractors. Special HVAC 

contractor workshops are under way to review state service and 

repair contract laws, including a customer's three-day right to rescind 

a home improvement contract; requirements for getting permits and 

inspections from local building departments; and the responsibility to 

assure that a contractor's workers' compensation insurance properly 

covers all employees so the customer does not become liable for on-

site worker injuries. 

A number of unscrupulous HVAC tradespeople are undermining the industry's many positive contributions by 

using predatory practices such as: 

•  Hard-sell tactics to obtain grossly inflated contracts 

CSLB investigators have found that what starts out as a simple inspection, tune-up, or modest repair of an 

HVAC system often turns into a complete replacement that costs thousands of dollars and, in many cases, is 

completely unnecessary. 

•  Misrepresenting work as critical or safety-related, needing immediate correction 

In one case, an elderly homeowner reported that a technician performing a free duct inspection claimed to have 

found a cracked heat exchanger that was leaking carbon monoxide gas. The technician turned off the gas 



supply, rendering the unit inoperable during a December cold spell, and pressured the woman to replace the 

entire unit. Her son suspected a scam and called CSLB. An inspection by another HVAC contractor revealed 

that the unit was in good working condition. 

•  Failing to provide the three-day right to rescind a home improvement contract 

Some contractors are convincing consumers to waive this legal right so a job can quickly proceed and be paid 

for upfront. 

•  Failing to obtain building permits 

Although not considered an HVAC scam, making sure that permits are obtained and inspections are conducted 

by the local building department is one of the larger issues of industry noncompliance that CSLB is addressing. 

•  Lack of workers' compensation insurance or under-reporting employees 

These practices harm employees and cause consumers to face financial risk if an employee is injured on the 

job. 

CSLB and its partners are responding to these growing problems with: 

Workshops 

Educational HVAC workshops are being planned to remind contractors about California's service and repair 

contract laws and requirements, including a customer's three-day right to rescind a home improvement 

contract. CSLB will alert HVAC contractors beforehand about workshops in their area. 

Ambassador Program 

First introduced at a May 2014 industry meeting in San Jose, the Ambassador Program is a pilot project that 

enlists C-20 contractors in specific counties to market to customers the value of using a state-licensed 

contractor to assure proper installation, permitting, and state-required testing of new HVAC units to maximum 

energy savings and lower power bills. The program also aims to elicit more compliance with workers' 

compensation insurance and building permit requirements. 

Enforcement 

CSLB has been conducting undercover sting operations that focus on HVAC installation, repair, and permit 

compliance, as well as check for workers' compensation insurance violations. The Board also has assigned 



several of its peace officers to work with local law enforcement, the BBB, and industry leaders to target 

licensed and unlicensed contractors who work on the legal fringe of contractor laws. 

Partnerships 

The BBB has begun sharing its consumer complaint files about problem contractors with CSLB to aid with 

investigations, and local district attorneys will prosecute contractors who criminally harm consumers, 

particularly the elderly. 

Outreach 

CSLB will continue to publicize its enforcement events, such as sting operation results, and enhance consumer 

and contractor education about HVAC-related scams and how to avoid becoming a victim. Public outreach also 

will be conducted through CSLB's existing Senior Scam Stopper seminars, as well as through media 

appearances. 

CSLB encourages legitimate contractors to report anyone who bends or breaks state contracting laws by 

submitting a complaint form to investigators, or a lead referral form for active job sites to the appropriate 

Statewide Investigative Fraud Team, depending on location.  

New C-22 Asbestos Classification Update  

CSLB is moving forward with its effort to establish a new C-22 

Asbestos Abatement classification. A 15-Day Notice of Modified Text 

received approval by CSLB's Board earlier this year. The modified text 

made non-substantive changes and clarifications to the originally 

proposed regulatory language. The "C" Specialty license for asbestos 

abatement would be CSLB's 44th classification, and first new licensed 

trade since C-31 Construction Zone Traffic Control was added in 2000. 

The stand-alone asbestos abatement classification would not take the place of the existing CSLB asbestos 

certification requirements set forth in complaint form to investigators, or a Business and Professions Code 

section 7058.5. Contractors who perform asbestos work as a part of a larger project in their licensed trade 

would not be required to obtain a C-22 license if they already hold the CSLB certification. 

Consistent with other license classifications, a C-22 license applicant would have to satisfy experience and 

examination requirements, and pass a criminal background check. 

http://cslb.ca.gov/Resources/FormsAndApplications/ConsumerComplaintForm.pdf.pdf
http://cslb.ca.gov/Consumers/FilingAComplaint/LeadReferralComplaint.asp
http://cslb.ca.gov/Resources/FormsAndApplications/ConsumerComplaintForm.pdf
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/GeneralInformation/Library/LicensingClassifications/ASBASBESTOSCERTIFICATION.ASP
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/GeneralInformation/Library/LicensingClassifications/ASBASBESTOSCERTIFICATION.ASP


A C-22 license would allow the performance of asbestos abatement work regardless of any other classifications 

that may be held by the licensee. C-22 licensees also would be required to register with the Department of 

Industrial Relations' Division of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH). This same requirement applies to 

those who hold an asbestos certification. 

The end of the comment period on the modified text was June 5, 2014. Staff will respond to all comments 

received on the regulatory proposal in the Final Statement of Reasons that is part of the complete rulemaking 

package. The C-22 proposal will next be reviewed by the Department of Consumer Affairs. It will then be 

forwarded to the state Office of Administrative Law as well as the Department of Finance for a final review. 

Online Application System Launched for Public Works 
Contractors 

A new online application is now available for contractors who must be registered with the state Department of 

Industrial Relations (DIR) to verify that they meet the requirements to bid on California public works projects. 

The online features also provide agencies that oversee public works projects with a searchable database of 

qualified contractors. 

Part of a new law that revised the bidding oversight and registration procedure (Senate Bill 854), effective July 

1, 2014, DIR's program now covers all bond-funded and public works projects in the state rather than just 

selected processes. (The Labor Commissioner's Office, however, will continue to monitor and enforce 

prevailing wage requirements.) 

Using the new online application process, public works contractors can create an account and complete forms. 

(An annual, nonrefundable $300 fee will be due beginning in March 2015.)  Contractors who bid on public 

works jobs must verify that they hold a CSLB-issued contractor license, maintain workers' compensation 

insurance coverage for all employees, and only hire subcontractors who are registered public works 

contractors. 

In addition, licensed contractors must not have been barred from working on public works projects by the state 

or federal government, or owe delinquent wage or penalty assessments to employees or a public agency. 

More information is available on DIR's website. 

 

 

http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlsepublicworks.html


To protect the integrity of the construction industry and its law-abiding professionals, CSLB's 

Enforcement division — with the help of partnering state agencies and local law enforcement — works 

hard to hold accountable those contractors who harm consumers through illegal business practices. 

Below are several recent cases where CSLB investigations led to successful prosecutions — and time 

behind bars for offenders. 

Monterey County Unlicensed Contractors Sentenced to Jail, 
Ordered to Pay $5 Million in Restitution 

Unlicensed window installation and painting business owners Daniel Kenneth Furness and Coleen Ann Gsell, 

of Monterey, have been sentenced to one year in county jail and ordered to pay $5 million in restitution to 

victims for illegal contracting practices, following a lengthy investigation by CSLB and prosecution efforts by the 

Monterey County District Attorney's Office. 

During the couple's Superior Court sentencing in May, Furness also was ordered to five years of formal felony 

probation; Gsell will serve three years of formal misdemeanor probation. Furness and Gsell each had 

previously pleaded no contest to nine criminal charges. 

Although never licensed by CSLB, Furness and Gsell owned and operated "windowdesign, inc.," "Window 

Design," and "Fresh Paint." The couple used CSLB license numbers that were assigned to legitimate 

contractors, and charged more than $4 million to approximately 600 different homeowners. 

Furness and Gsell were found guilty of cheating on disability insurance, unemployment insurance, and 

employer taxes by lying to the Employment Development Department about their company's payroll and 

number of employees. They also filed fraudulent personal and corporate income taxes and knowingly filed false 

Form 1099s for two employees with the Franchise Tax Board. 

One of their companies, "windowdesign, inc.," illegally recorded mechanics liens and filed lawsuits against 

clients, alleging that the company was licensed, and that materials had been delivered and labor or services 

had been performed. 

Both Furness and Gsell have begun serving their jail terms. 

Driveway Scam Paves a Path to Jail for "Most Wanted" Suspect  

An unlicensed operator with a long history of scamming consumers in the San Diego and Central Coast areas 
is behind bars as a result of his latest con job. Alex Pike Mitchell's numerous prior convictions for contracting 



without a license and ripping off unsuspecting consumers earned him an entry on CSLB's Most Wanted list of 
egregious violators last year. 

CSLB investigations resulted in previous felony convictions against Mitchell for grand theft, theft by false 

pretense, contracting without a license, and failure to secure workers' compensation insurance. In the most 

recent San Diego County case, Mitchell pleaded guilty, on May 20, 2014, to a felony grand theft charge. 

As part of the plea process, Mitchell agreed to a four-year sentence with a 50/50 split 

of the time, meaning he will serve two years in San Diego County Jail and two years 

on mandatory supervision. Mitchell also was ordered to pay $9,300 in victim 

restitution. 

Mitchell often targeted the elderly or homeowners with long driveways, telling them 

that he was working in the area and had leftover paving materials. Once the contract 

was signed, Mitchell would collect down payments ranging from $1,000-$2,500 and never return to do the 

work. 

Michell's appearance on CSLB's Most Wanted list helped protect at least one homeowner from being 

victimized. While Mitchell was working at a job in La Mesa, an alert neighbor became suspicious and did an 

online check of Mitchell. He found Mitchell on CSLB's Most Wanted page and told the homeowner, who quickly 

fired Mitchell before giving him any of the money he agreed to for a new driveway. 

CSLB to Get Tough on RMO Abuses  

After a sharp rise in consumer complaints against license 

qualifiers who have been granted a test waiver, the 

Enforcement division has established a task force to investigate 

cases where Responsible Managing Officers (RMOs) are 

suspected of acting as paid figureheads for a company, but 

exercise little to no control over its operations. 

Contractors who serve as qualifiers for a company's 

construction operations must exercise direct control and 

supervision. If you are an RMO and do not have active 

involvement in the construction and business operations, you 

risk CSLB administrative penalties against your license(s) as 

well as criminal prosecution, regardless of whether you're aware 



of substandard work being performed by unqualified individuals. 

In a sample group investigated earlier this year, consumer complaints were filed against 40 percent of the 

RMOs who qualify licenses. A similar review in October 2012 identified complaints against 23 percent of the 

sample RMO group. By comparison, only about 3 percent of CSLB's almost 300,000 licensed contractors are 

the subject of a consumer complaint each year. 

The task force will be watching for exam waiver requests from applicants suspected of only seeking to rent their 

name for a fee. CSLB also will seek to revoke qualifier status previously granted to anyone whose actions 

demonstrate they do not have an ownership stake or are not active decision makers listed on a license. 

A new law that took effect in January 2014, Business and Professions Code section 7068.1, now authorizes 

CSLB to discipline a qualifier, and the licensed entity they are qualifying, when the qualifier is not actively 

involved in the construction activities of the license they are representing. In addition to administrative 

penalties, the individual falsely serving as a qualifier on the license can be charged with a misdemeanor and be 

sentenced to serve up to six months in jail, and required to pay a fine from $3,000-$5,000, or both, if convicted. 

A review of Business and Professions Code section 7065 will provide further explanation of examination 

waiver laws. 

CSLB Pipeline Review Program Expands into Southern California  

CSLB has successfully teamed with Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E) to hold accountable any 

contractor who jeopardizes pipelines by failing to obtain permits for Northern California excavations. The pipe 

protection program now is being expanded to Southern California in a CSLB collaboration with Sempra Energy, 

the parent company of SoCal Gas, and San Diego Gas & Electric. The utility companies will begin sending 

cases involving unauthorized digs/pipeline strikes to CSLB staff in Southern California for review. 

For the last year, CSLB has reviewed complaints from PG&E 

against contractors who allegedly showed a pattern of failing to 

obtain the required pre-dig permits or struck a pipeline during 

excavations. About 50 PG&E referrals have been reviewed so 

far by CSLB staff. 

Remember: Anyone planning to dig into the ground in 

conjunction with a construction project must call one of 

California's two Underground Service Alert 8-1-1 notification centers at least two days before starting to request 

line markings that identify the location or absence of underground utilities. (See article that follows.) 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=7068.1.
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=bpc&group=07001-08000&file=7065-7077


Notification failures pose great danger to the public. Leaking natural gas from a punctured line can explode, 

while those who strike an electrical line are at risk of electrocution. Damaged conduits that carry fiber optic or 

telephone cables can disrupt services to the community and result in costly repairs. 

CSLB has the legal authority to take action against licensees for negligent pipeline breaks (Business and 

Professions Code section 7110). CSLB reviews the allegations and issues decisions that can range from 

dismissal of the case (usually for lack of clear-cut evidence) to license revocation in the most serious instances. 

Excavators who fail to call 8-1-1 also are subject to a fine of up to $50,000, and can be held responsible for any 

repair costs if they knowingly and willingly violate Government Code sections 4216-4216.9, which cover 

excavations. 

The joint CSLB-PG&E effort to reduce pipeline incidents appears to be paying dividends. At a Senate 

subcommittee hearing earlier this year, CSLB's review program was credited with helping to reduce the number 

of pipeline strikes. 

Before You Turn a Shovel, Make a Call 

No matter how minimal a project may seem, contractors who plan to dig or excavate are required to call 8-1-1 

and at least two days beforehand coordinate with either the Underground Service Alert of Northern 

California (known as USA North) or Underground Service Alert of Southern California (aka DigAlert). 

Here is the notification checklist: 

• Call 8-1-1 at least two working days, but not more than 14 days, before starting your dig. You are not 

allowed to dig during that time. Notification is required regardless of whether the project is taking place 

on public, private or commercial property. 

• You will be given a ticket number that references your dig information. 

Each contractor must have his or her own number. Sharing of a ticket between 

contractors on a single job is not allowed. Tickets are valid for up to 28 days 

after they're issued. 

• Once the call is made, accurately outline your excavation area. Utility 

company representatives will visit within two working days either to mark or stake the horizontal path of 

their underground facilities, provide information about the location, or advise that there are no lines in 

conflict with your project. 

• If you accidentally strike a line, you must notify the affected utility, even if there is no visible damage; 

internal damage to the pipe may have occurred that can lead to future problems. 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=bpc&group=07001-08000&file=7090-7124.6
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=bpc&group=07001-08000&file=7090-7124.6
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=gov&group=04001-05000&file=4216-4216.9
http://www.usanorth.org/
http://www.usanorth.org/
http://www.digalert.org/home.html


USA North covers Northern and Central California. DigAlert handles Southern California. 

CSLB Helps Veterans Transition into Civilian Contractor Careers  

Thirty-four veterans already have used CSLB's Veterans Application Assistance Program to help earn their 

California contractor license, and the door remains open to those who seek a career as a contractor following 

their military service. 

The program, established in December 2012, helps veterans by providing: 

• Contact with CSLB staff specially trained to evaluate transferable military training and experience from 

all branches of the military that meet minimum licensure requirements;  

• Automatic priority application processing;  

• Evaluation of college transcripts to help verify acceptable educational credit (in addition to military 

experience and training).  

In establishing the assistance program, CSLB partnered with the California Military Department to identify 

specific military job classifications that would meet minimum state licensure experience standards. 

If you have questions, believe you qualify for this program, or know someone who may benefit, see the 

Veterans Application Assistance Program page on CSLB's website. 

Properties Needed for Undercover Sting Operations 

To catch unlicensed contractors who unlawfully skim business from licensed contractors, CSLB needs residential and 

commercial properties where sting operations can be conducted. As you know, CSLB's Statewide Investigative Fraud 

Teams (SWIFT) proactively target those suspected of contracting without a license. Many are identified through 

online ads, some from industry leads, others from complaints. Investigators pose as homeowners and invite 

suspected unlicensed individuals to come to the properties to give a project bid. If the bid is over $500, they are 

arrested and given a Notice to Appear in superior court to answer to the misdemeanor charges. 

Those who participate may be paid a stipend for the use of their properties. 

To participate, contact: 

Northern SWIFT (Sacramento), 916.255.2924 

Central SWIFT (Fresno), 559.490.0580 

Southern SWIFT (Norwalk), 562.345.7600 

http://www.usanorth.org/
http://www.digalert.org/home.html
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/applicants/veterans/


 

Contractors May Benefit From Covered California's Special 
Enrollment Period 

From Covered California  

As a contractor, you know that if you can't work, you don't get paid. An injury or illness can take you off the job 

and cost hundreds or even thousands of dollars. That's why health insurance is so important to you, your family 

and your business. 

Nearly 1.4 million Californians signed up for health insurance through Covered California during the first open 

enrollment period, and many of them received financial help in paying for their coverage. Even though open 

enrollment is over, Covered California's special-enrollment period allows many people to still secure health 

care coverage with one of the name-brand insurance companies offered by Covered California. 

Special enrollment is for people who have experienced a major 

change in their life such as having a baby, marriage, or the loss of a 

job that provided health coverage. If you have a major change in your 

life, you still can sign up for a health insurance plan to protect yourself 

and your family. Plus, thanks to the reforms included in the Patient 

Protection and Affordable Care Act, you could be eligible for financial 

help to reduce your costs, and you can-t be turned away by an 

insurance company for a pre-existing condition. 

During special enrollment between now and the end of 2014, you can sign up for coverage as long as you do 

so within 60 days of a major life event. The most common reasons that would make you eligible are: 

• You lose your health coverage because you've lost or changed jobs.  

• You get married or enter a domestic partnership.  

• You have a baby, adopt a child or place a child in adoption or in a foster home.  

• You move and gain access to new Covered California health insurance plans that were not available 

where you previously lived.  

• You become a citizen, national or lawfully present individual.  

For a limited time, special enrollment also is open to Californians who are covered through COBRA (the 

Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act). For more than three decades, COBRA coverage has 



allowed people who lost their employer-sponsored health coverage to keep their plan, if they paid the full cost 

plus a 2 percent administrative fee. 

For many people on COBRA, plans in Covered California could be better options, thanks to the possibility of 

federal financial assistance and cost-sharing reductions that are available only through health exchanges like 

Covered California. This financial help could save Californians on COBRA hundreds of dollars a month and 

thousands of dollars a year, and many Californians can get a better deal even without a financial subsidy. 

The special-enrollment period for COBRA beneficiaries ends on July 15. For more information, visit 

www.CoveredCA.com/faqs/cobra. 

Special enrollment for those with life-changing events will be available to all eligible Californians until open 

enrollment resumes in the fall. For more information, visit www.CoveredCA.com/coverage-basics/special-

enrollment. 

If you qualify for any of these opportunities, you can visit the Covered California website and click on the 

"Special Enrollment" button to apply. You can also contact a Covered California Certified Enrollment Counselor 

or Certified Insurance Agent, or you can call Covered California at 800.300.1506. 

Worker Deaths Show Perils of Unlicensed Palm Tree Trimming 

The deaths of three tree trimmers who were suffocated while 

trimming palms in Southern California between 2010 and 

2012 shows the risks of allowing unlicensed workers to 

undertake potentially life-threatening projects. 

The California Fatality Assessment and Control Evaluation 

(CA FACE) program, which tracks and investigates cases of 

fatal injuries at work, has publicized the incidents to warn 

employers and consumers about the need to hire tree 

trimmers and companies that hold a C-61/-49 Tree Service 

license from CSLB and are certified by recognized arborist 

organizations. 

In all three cases, the tree trimmers suffocated under the weight of collapsing palm fronds. The workers 

climbed the tree and trimmed the fronds from the bottom up, placing themselves directly beneath the fronds. 

Neither the workers nor the supervisors were licensed tree workers, nor did they follow proper safety 

http://www.coveredca.com/faqs/cobra/
http://www.coveredca.com/coverage-basics/special-enrollment/
http://www.coveredca.com/coverage-basics/special-enrollment/


procedures or use the correct equipment. The workers were pinned by thick layers of dead fronds and 

suffocated. 

Thousands of tree workers who trim palm trees are at risk. There are more than 45,000 palm trees in 

California, and many are tall, mature trees with many years of frond buildup. 

Big palms present a unique danger. When a tree trimmer cuts or pulls on dead fronds, adjacent fronds or an 

entire ring of fronds may collapse and suffocate the worker. 

To reduce the danger, proper work procedures and correct equipment should be used when trimming palms. 

Fronds should be removed by workers using an aerial device and wearing fall protection. Alternatively, workers 

should use climbing procedures that place them above the fronds. 

Homeowners should only hire tree trimming companies with a C-61/-49 license. Under certain circumstances, 

homeowners may be liable for worker injuries or deaths that occur on their property if they hire unlicensed 

individuals. 

Only workers certified by organizations such as the Tree Care Industry Association (TCIA) or the International 

Society of Arboriculture (ISA) should perform or supervise palm tree trimming. 

The FACE program is part of the state Department of Public Health's Occupational Health Branch. 

Read the FACE palm tree investigations.  

Chemical in SPF Poses Health Risks Without Proper Safety Steps  

Spray polyurethane foam (SPF) is a popular material used in the roofing and insulation industries, but it 

contains a potentially dangerous chemical that can cause asthma and other health problems for those working 

around it, warns the California Department of Public Health (CDPH). 

Unsafe work practices and inadequate supervision when applying SPF can result in exposure to methylene 

diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI), which is part of a larger family of chemicals known as isocyanates. Even in small 

amounts, isocyanates can cause asthma, skin and mucous 

membrane irritation, and rarely, a more serious lung condition. 

Isocyanates can enter the lungs when workers breathe in vapors 

or mists from spraying. In addition to their use in polyurethane 

materials, isocyanates are found in paint used for automobiles 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/ohb-face/Pages/FACEReports.aspx


and planes, and in products such as spray-on truck bed liners, orthopedic casts, and industrial coatings. 

Isocyanates are toxic until they react with other chemicals to form the hardened or cured polyurethane product. 

Fully cured SPF is nontoxic, unless it is heated. 

The CDPH's Occupational Health Branch recommends the following safety steps for those who apply SPF in 

the course of their job in the roofing or insulation industries, or owners of these businesses: 

Substitution – Use pre-formed foam insulation rather than spray when possible. For protective coatings over 

SPF, choose products that are isocyanate-free rather than 2-component spray foams that typically contain 

isocyanates. 

Engineering Controls – When applying indoors, isolate operations from occupied areas and make sure 

there's adequate ventilation. 

Administrative Controls – Require workers to wash hands before breaks and leaving the job site. Maintain 

skin protection during cleanup times, and dispose of used gloves/coveralls properly. 

Training – Review safety steps with workers. 

Personal Protective Equipment – Require workers to wear chemically-resistant, full protection coveralls 

during spraying, as well as gloves and respirators. Those spraying outdoors need a full-face, air-purifying 

respirator with fresh cartridges that must be replaced at specified intervals. A supplied-air respirator is 

recommended for indoor SPF applications. 

California regulations set exposure limits for isocyanates in the workplace. 

Please refer to the fact sheet "Isocyanates: Working Safely" for more information. 

CSLB's Rapid Response to 
Southern California Fires: Expect 
More of the Same 

CSLB's Enforcement division staff and members of the San 

Diego Wildfire Task Force quickly went to work after recent 

fires in the region destroyed or damaged more than 85 homes 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/hesis/Documents/iso.pdf


and other structures. The teams met with residents and circulated information in the burn areas to warn 

tradespeople that working without a license in a state or federally declared disaster area could result in felony 

charges and, potentially, state prison time. 

CSLB then followed up a few weeks later with an undercover sting operation to see if the message to 

unlicensed operators had gotten through. It apparently had. 

Ten suspected unlicensed contractors were caught during the sting operation, conducted at a San Marcos 

home that sustained fire damage. But none of those arrested tried to specifically target wildfire victims, and, as 

a result, those suspects won't face felony charges for contracting without a license in a disaster area. 

CSLB is traditionally one of the first agencies to respond during the recovery process when structures are 

destroyed from fire, floods, earthquakes, or any other natural disaster. 

As a member of the California Emergency Management Agency's disaster recovery team, CSLB participates at 

temporary Local Assistance Centers that are set up for affected communities. CSLB staff provides educational 

information about post-disaster contracting laws to property owners who will be looking for contractors to 

rebuild their homes and other structures. 

CSLB investigators also sweep disaster areas and post signs to remind consumers to only hire state-licensed 

contractors. 

It's Dangerous Up There – Learn to Prevent Construction Falls 

Falls from high elevations continue to be a leading cause of death for 

construction workers, accounting for 269 of the 775 construction 

fatalities in 2012, the latest year for which figures are available. 

These deaths are preventable. 

New tailgate training and video materials about fatal worker falls are 

now available for OSHA's National Safety Stand-Down to Prevent 

Falls in Construction campaign. The materials, in English and 

Spanish, are produced by the California Fatality Assessment and Control Evaluation (FACE) Program. 

FACE encourages employers and others to visit a fall prevention topic page and use the program's new 

tailgate training and video materials as part of their Safety Stand-Down. FACE is part of the California 

Department of Public Health. 

 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/ohb-face/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/ohb/Pages/Falls.aspx


Courses Can Help Head Off Expensive Tax Classification 
Mistakes 

Properly reporting employee payroll taxes to state departments is crucial 

for contractors to avoid accidentally misclassifying staff and subjecting 

their business to penalties and fines. The Employment Development 

Department (EDD) provides free classroom style and online 

presentations to help contractors learn the ropes of state employer 

reporting laws. 

The classroom seminars are offered in many locations throughout 

California. They are customized to benefit everyone – established 

businesses, those just getting started, individuals anticipating going into business, payroll agents – and the 

instructors encourage audience participation. 

The online courses allow you to learn on your own, when you want, at your own pace, and wherever you 

choose to access the Internet. 

Below are some of the tax seminar courses that might benefit your contracting business: 

• Federal/State Basic Payroll Tax Seminar  

• Quick Course in Federal and State Payroll Taxes  

• State Labor Law and Payroll Tax Seminar  

• Employee or Independent Contractor Seminar  

• State Payroll Tax Workshop  

• How to Manage Unemployment Insurance Costs Tax Seminar  

• Audits and Appeals Payroll Tax Seminar  

• Employment Taxes and the Nonprofit Organization Seminar  

• Household Employers Payroll Tax Seminar  

• State Basic Payroll Tax Seminar  

• Avoid Errors on Payroll Tax Reporting Seminar  

• View Other Seminars  

The Department of Industrial Relations and Internal Revenue Service also offer State Labor Law and Federal 

Payroll Tax presentations at some of the EDD seminars. 

Click here to learn more. 

http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/Classroom_Seminars.aspx
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Web_Based_Seminars.htm
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Seminar.aspx?id=2
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Seminar.aspx?id=23
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Seminar.aspx?id=11
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Seminar.aspx?id=3
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Seminar.aspx?id=1
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Seminar.aspx?id=5
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Seminar.aspx?id=7
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Seminar.aspx?id=8
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Seminar.aspx?id=9
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Seminar.aspx?id=4
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Seminar.aspx?id=6
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/View_Other_Seminars.aspx
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/


State Contracting Opportunities Available for Eligible Businesses  

A wide range of construction-related work is available for contractors through the California Department of 

General Services (DGS) Real Estate Services and Procurements divisions once you become certified as a 

Small Business and Disabled Veterans Business Enterprise (DVBE). 

General construction; heating, ventilation and air conditioning; concrete work; plumbing; and flooring are just a 

few of the opportunities. The contracting work is part of general repair and maintenance for statewide DGS-

controlled buildings and grounds. DVBE-certified businesses are granted certain benefits during the bidding 

process. 

DGS also holds statewide Small Business and DVBE outreach events throughout the year to acquaint business 

owners with the certification process and how to find state government work. Look here for the 2014-2015 

schedule of events. 

More information about the state Small Business and DVBE program is available here. 

Quick Quiz 

1. Can a C-36 Plumbing contractor install residential fire protection systems?  

• Yes, for a one- or two-story family dwelling – but commercial installations are not allowed. 

•   

2. True or False: I am a licensed C-39 Roofing contractor. A C-10 Electrical contractor asked me to 

install some solar panels on a roof. Can I do that?  

• Roofing contractors may only install roofing materials. For contracts involving solar 

installation, the contractor must hold a C-46 Solar or C-10 Electrical license.  

•  

3. I've let my sole ownership license expire since I'm in the process of licensing a corporation. 

Can I transfer my expired sole ownership license to the corporation?  

• To transfer a sole ownership license to a corporation business type, the license must be in 

good standing (renewed active or inactive) at the time you submit your application to license 

the corporation.  

 

http://www.dgs.ca.gov/pd/Programs/OSDS.aspx
http://www.documents.dgs.ca.gov/pd/events/SBDVBEevents.pdf
http://www.dgs.ca.gov/resd/RESDSBDVBEOutreach.aspx


4. What forms should I use if I want to assign a new qualifier to my corporation because the 

previous qualifier was terminated?  

• Disassociation Request, Replacement of Qualifier Application 

•   

5. How many days does a licensee have to replace a qualifier that has been removed from their 

license?  

• 90  
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